EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

New Years Day....

A time for looking at what is around you, what is in your life, what you want to be included and more importantly, what you need to get rid of!
It's a time for looking forward, to the near or far future...a time for cleansing maybe?

New Years Resolutions? Giving up smoking and drinking are possibly the number 1 and 2 all time greats, but I don't believe in any of that, you are in control of your life, day in day out. Why wait until the 1st of January to make a stand and be true to yourself? Odd.....

I have had a day of all of the above, being presented to me, in one way or another. It started by a rather odd dream last night and hasn't stopped until now!

Times will change for me very soon, I envisage quite dramatically. As I have chosen to leave this wonderful lifestyle and unique World that seems to have lost it's way, from the previous magnificence, that everyone associates Egypt with.

Maybe I have been more receptive today than of late, but things have been said to me today that have made me realise that I am extremely lucky to be here, experience the things I have.

To learn firsthand about the Luxor culture, way of life and to be accepted into a community, treated with respect and more importantly, as an equal, to me, means I have 'Succeeded'.

I came here with an open mind and heart, accepting (But learning very quickly) whatever Luxor had to show/offer/teach me.

From all of the conversations I have had today, the New Years greetings from people of all religions, the kind words that have been said, the thoughts, private affairs and problems that have been shared with me, from neighbours, friends and even strangers! It has been one of the best days I have had in a very long time. Each and every person I have had contact with today, has made me feel I am welcome here and a valuable part of both the surroundings and the community.

The bottom line is, Luxor is the best. The people are the best. Let's hope it can recover and be the mighty nation it once was.

(This Blip is for the 8 people that, just 2 days ago, decided to take a stand for themselves and their families, by marking out 3m2 areas, in the Tombs of the Nobles.
4 years ago, people were removed from this area and given new property in New Qurna. They lost their work, their contact with the tourists and the opportunity to earn a living from visitors to their shops.
8 people, still await their compensation regarding their bazaars and businesses. They have their papers, telling them of their entitlement, but until now, it is has not materialised.
I hear what the people say, but I also hear the many, many other problems in the City, the Governate, the Country and the World...Good luck and all the very best for Egypt and indeed all, in 2013.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.