English Girl in Berlin

By EnglishRose

Goodbye to 2012

So it's finally here - year end and the completion of my first year of blips. It's been quite a challenge, I didn't think it would be so hard to find something new and interesting to photograph every day - and some days I didn't quite manage it. But as well as a challenge it has been an achievement and I am happy to have such an amazing record of 2012 - however benign some of the details might be!

In summary there have been:

- 55 city shots of Edinburgh (one of my favourite places - I can't image living anywhere else)
- 42 photos of food and drink (which seems to be a big focus of my life)
- 37 snaps of random objects indoors (mostly in my flat when it has been emergency Blip time)
- 32 pictures of sunrises, sunsets and dramatic skies (Edinburgh has a fantastic skyline against a beautiful sky)
- 28 photos of flowers (5 featuring roses which are my favourite)
- 28 portraits of friends, street performers and me! (not as many of these as I would like but hardly any of my friends will let me take their picture)
- 26 photos of random objects outside (I love coming across a small detail that I haven't noticed before)
- 21 up close shots of nature (leaves and twigs and stuff but not flowers)
- 21 pictures of street art and signs (I especially love spotting old signs etched onto building around Edinburgh and trying to find out some of the history behind them)
- 16 photos of water and reflections (often by the Union Canal where I often stroll on a sunny day)
- 15 photos of The Meadows (I walk this way to work every day so a misty morning has often been my Blip saviour)
- 12 light trail pictures (often taken on a walk home from the pub so it's been hard to master a steady hand)
- 10 bokeh snaps (I especially love using the light to make exciting shapes)
- 9 landscapes (the thing I find most challenging as I often feel hampered by technology to really make the most of a dramatic scene)
- 9 city shots of cities that aren't Edinburgh (always good for finding new inspiration)
- 4 picture of trains and railways! (I really can't explain this ...)

Anyway, if you like you can click on the links and see my favourites in each category.

Thank you to everyone who has looked at my Blips, left kind comments and helpful advice, and sometimes a heart or a star. It has been really inspirational looking at all your journals and I'm not sure I would have kept this up for a whole year without Blip.

Not sure what 2013 holds - I will definitely keep on Blipping but perhaps not every day - we'll see - it will be a pretty hard habit to break!

Oh, and this is a picture of the fireworks on Calton Hill (Hogmanay in Edinburgh - can't beat it).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.