Fun in the Fens

By Jimbofin

Cycle Ride

I hopped on a bike for the first time in six weeks today. I wish I hadn't.

I decided to take my nearly 20 year old Trek hybrid out for the first time since getting my sportive bike two years ago. Gosh the tales this bike could tell as it has accompanied me from homes in London, Bracknell, Herefordshire and Bristol. In my minds eye I always remember riding it on romantic outings with my partner du jour with "Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head" playing in the background.

What I'd forgotten is that it is heavy, strangely geared, has no bar ends, no mudguards and the most uncomfortable grips I can remember using, so my hands ached after only a few minutes. The lack of mud guards is pretty important when the ride goes straight through three farmyards. Oh yes, and the saddle, which I've had for much longer than the bike, has become uncomfortable as well though I have a few spare ones lying around so that shouldn't be a problem.

So it wasn't a great ride, and gosh was it slow.

I'm thinking about altering my London commute so I catch a train from Rugby, which is less stressful to cycle to than Coventry. I don't want to take the Brompton because at the other end I either tube or use Boris bikes. I thought if I used this bike I wouldn't mind leaving it at Rugby station during the day, but I'm going to have to think about that again if today's ride was anything to go by.

Oh yes, and it was a lovely cloudless sunny day when I set off. That didn't last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.