What's in a name.

It's been a good day today, getting better as time went on. This evening has been warm and sunny and I stayed out after dinner, putting up some pieces of trellis out on the deck.

This afternoon my friend David and I went to Achnacloich to meet our fellow gardener Charlie who has been there for a long time, though to be honest it's been a while since there was sufficient manpower to keep the gardens in good shape. We had a lovely walk round with him and saw many beautiful plants in flower, including several species of Clethra, a few late rhododendrons and a tulip tree. 

I love this fuchsia - Fuchsia magellanica 'Lady Bacon', which incidentally came to Achnacloich as a cutting from Arduaine! We also saw a large Rhododendron cinnabarinum subsp. xanthocodon, which came from Arduaine too! When I first came to Arduaine we decided to get rid of a number of rhododendrons of which we had a number of specimens and so we raised some money by selling them off. Quite a few went to Crarae. 

Going back to 'Lady Bacon', I believe it was collected in Chile by the lady herself, who with her husband owns Raveningham Hall in Norfolk, though I've discovered that in Chile it's known to be a genuine subspecies of Fuchsia magellanica, so maybe it was a bit cheeky naming it after her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.