Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bowled over

A slightly hazy start to the day was helped along by doing pretty much nothing all morning save choosing amusing anagrams of friends' names. After lunch we took all the kids into town for bowling - though I think this was a bigger treat for me, as I've somehow managed to get through 42 years without ever trying it.

My folks were rather good at it back in the day, and it seems some skill came my way as I managed to win. I will gloss over the fact that - like the kids but unlike the other grown ups - I had the rails up so there was no gutter. A bit cheaty I'm sure, and I doubt I'll get away with that next time.

Home in time for hasty food preparation and then straight into the party. This group of friends have been getting together for over 20 years to bring in each new year, and for the last five years in the same venue. As usual it was a chance to catch up with folk I don't see nearly often enough, play some daft games, eat and drink far too much lovely stuff and have a bit of a sing. This year a dance-along-with-Abba game added to the joy - and the kids all joined us for the Bells (normally they are banished upstairs with movies and pizza). I always emerge from New Year with an injury - often foot-related - and this year after a practice attempt, the host managed to drop a guitar on my foot!

So, that was 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.