The echinopsis flower dissected

John W. came to visit to help me go shopping for provisions. When we returned home just before lunchtime I made us strong coffee to accompany some delicious almond croissants I'd picked up on the way.

I showed John the wilted echinopsis cactus flowers which were still attached with their long stems to the parent plants. Then I revealed the photos I'd taken of the flowers during the 24 hours when they put on their brilliant display.

John takes amazing stereoscopic images of living things under high powered microscopes, which utilises his great botanic knowledge. I suggested that we take a look inside one of the four wilting flower stems and so we cut open the whole length of the stem and discussed how the plant's reproduction might occur. I realised that I should record the event once again and blip it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.