My blipmeet of the trip! Great to catch up with Folkie for coffee during her lunchbreak in the rightly esteemed Lovelocks. As she went back to work I took a detour to the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral which I've admired from the outside but never seen from the inside. It's not as bright as I expected but is a refreshing take on cathedraldom with the sort of simple, unfussy decoration and art that I like.

I wanted to get the bus to go to Tate Liverpool in Albert Dock (for the sake of my ankle - it's a distance I'd normally walk quite happily) but could not fathom how the buses work: almost all bus stops say either that the service was suspended in September 2018 or that the bus stop is closed. So I walked, and called in at the bus information centre on the way to find out how to get a bus back to the boat later.

The Keith Haring exhibition is defiant, moving and thoughtful. I was impressed both by how much there is to see from a genre that was consciously ephemeral and by the amount of information there was to give context to a time that time has changed. I wonder what those who weren't around in the 80s make of the fear that the so-called 'gay plague' unleashed and of the scandalous victim-blaming.

Of course the bus stop that the information centre had persuaded me to limp to was out of service, and of course the Arriva information person there sent me a long way round to the replacement stop with unclear instructions. This experience is making me aware of how very badly people with mobility difficulties are served. I hold my hand up to having been oblivious to this a few weeks ago but surely at the very least those whose job it is to help people should have accurate information and empathy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.