I've Seen Things You People Wouldn't Believe

How to honour the passing of one of my favourite actors, Rutger Hauer? At first I thought of watching Blade Runner. But then I thought a better way would be to go for a long hike. After all, Roy Batty was the prodigal son, the candle that burned twice as bright but half as long. He reveled in his time, collecting moments that would, sadly, be lost in time like tears in rain.

So I hiked for seven and a half hours from Ashiya to the top of Mount Rokko and then down into Takarazuka, a distance of roughly 20 kilometers. Here is the journey from inception in Ashiya to termination overlooking Takarazuka.

One of the greatest moments in cinema.

Isn't there a certain poetic beauty in the fact that Hauer passed away in the same year as Roy Batty terminated?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.