Lepidoptera

My first job this morning was to empty the moth trap - no mean feat as there were literally hundreds of moths in there. I kept a few in collecting pots in the fridge (lucky them) to photograph later., and recorded those I know, or took quick snapshots to try and ID later. 
I decided to attempt a short walk before it got too hot, hoping to see a Wall butterfly which I've seen on the track near the back of out house, but no sign of any. There were lots pf Gatekeepers, and quite a few Ringlets, Meadow Browns, Commas and Small Whites. I also saw the odd Peacock, Small Tortoiseshell and Comma, but didn't manage any photos as they were all whizzing around.
Back home to the moths, which after their chilling were much more amenable. This Buff-tip was very still so I managed to get enough shots to stack. Mr PB didn't believe it was a moth at first, so convincing is its camouflage as a small birch twig. I got a few Elephant Hawk Moths in the trap, so I'm posting one of these in extras.
The rest of the day, I've been coping with the heat by watching cricket on TV. It got up to 32 degrees here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.