Serendipity

Meet Sam.

Sam collared me in a London street today - yes, of all the days to catch a train to London, that is what I did - and asked me to participate in his social experiment. He had a paperclip which he wanted to swap for something else. He'd then swap what I gave him with someone else for something else and would end the day with more than he started. I've heard of this before and went though my very empty bag for something I could spare. He was keen on my pencil but I need that, so in the end, in exchange for his green paperclip and permission to post his picture here, I gave him a sewing needle and a promise to send this photo to him. I'll find out from him what he had at the end of the day and will report back.

Not a great photo - sorry Sam, I should have taken a few more seconds over it. 

Meanwhile, our group lunch rather fell apart. Two of our five didn't come (grandparental duties and heat) and one was stuck until 6.30pm in the Belsize Park tunnel in a train that had been hit by a collapsed overhead cable. If you were going in or out of St Pancras today, it was that train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.