TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Backlit squirrel

I wasn't going to do any more squirrels... but felt this was sufficiently different to warrrant a place in my journal.
Very pleasant day to myself in the hide. I'm still coming to terms with the new diagnosis and its implications so it does me good to see that I can cope for the time being.
I was concentrating on flight paths of the sparrowhawk - and I anticipated it right, both times (1 with the female and 1 with the male). But still no shots! Why? You may well ask!
Well - female arrived at 1pm as predicted (into the garden from the field by way of the 5 bar gate, left turn, sweep along the fence and out into the field again near where my car was parked) - and I just watched!! and then realised I had missed her. DOH.
Changed position in the afternoon and stood outside by the hide door (they come over so fast they don't see me until they've gone). He usually does the late afternoon/ evening run and is less predictable on approach but will either come very low (along the floor) down the path by the front door, over the car and into the garden or from next door, take a run over the lawn and round the hide. I've pretty much sussed the alarm calls and can tell the genuine alarm from the numerous false alarms of the blackbirds. (you know what they say about crying wolf once too often) So I knew when a hawk was in the vicinity - I just couldn't spot him. Then I looked over my shoulder and there he was, sitting on the fence, not 10 yards from me. Boy was he handsome? Neat, compact and smoky grey, I would have loved just one shot, but as soon as I moved he was off - the disdain just oozing from him.
I think he stayed around for some time but I didn't get another chance.
So I had to be content with various experimental shots with (back) light, some worked , some didn't.
CAN ANYONE HELP? Something odd is happening to my blipfolio - either the images are in the wrong position or they don't stay on the screen long enough. Advice gratefully received!
canon 1d; 420mm; iso200; f/8; 1/800"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.