Ink Polaroids

By inkpolaroids

Claddagh, Ireland 2019

Not that anyone will read this, but I'm having a crisis. Let me explain.

Despite best attempts I feel I am definitely more 'stock' than 'street' at the moment.

Please find enclosed Exhibit 1, a pretty average (i'd give it a B-) stock image of a boat in the harbour at Galway. Nothing too interesting, though I like the colours and I've tried to place it within the context of the town in which I find myself.

But beyond this boat, and this harbour is one of Europe's greatest cities, a city at this time of year full of life and colour and photographic opportunities that would have even Garry Winnogrand stocking up on extra rolls of film.

And yet, here I am. Taking a picture of a boat.

So I have been thinking lately about what direction I want my photography to take. I love the idea of 'street' (I follow some great photographers who inspire and frustrate me in equal measures) and I've done two excellent workshops now on 'street' photography but yet, nothing has changed. I get the settings, I have the lenses, I have all the gear yet I am still a delicate wallflower, afraid to upset anyone and get in the way.

What I lack is courage. What I also lack is the the 'eye'  ..

While I now have no problem going up to strangers and asking for portraits, the 'real' street photography I am just not seeing. Yer Meyerowitz, yer Winnogrand, yet Meijer, yer Parr, my entire 'following' list on Instagram.

In September I will be doing a third (and last) workshop with one of the best Dutch street photographers I know and which will show me a different angle to 'street' photography and which will hopefully resolve my crisis. Or put me off street photography forever.

So, if not 'street', what then?

Lately I have been following Stephanie Strassbourg in instagram.  I think that this is where I am heading, documentary photojournalism. The sorts of stories that you used to read in NatGeo, the ones about the towns and villages of America and the stories that go with it. I wouldn't call what Stephanie does 'street' but her images and stories are a tremendous inspiration.

But how to get there? Aarrggghhh ..

Advice, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.