Kamran

By kamran

Sofie

I met Sofie by chance in the street when I was photographing the new year's eve. She is from Denmark and was in Nuremberg to celebrate new year's eve. Sophie was accompanied by her few friends. They all were dancing in the street. As I took some pictures of them we became friends in no time. I hanged out with them for about six hours. We first went to a bar, and then to a disco. During this time I took hundreds of shots of them, both individual and as a group.
I found Sofie quite out-going and a a happy-go-lucky girl. She was on top of her mood and had a broad smile throughout. She danced with everyone, accepted drinks, and exchanged numbers.
About six o'clock in the morning, when everyone was tired and before we said good bye to each other, I knew I was missing something. I asked Sofie and one of her friends if I could take one last picture of them. They were very reluctant but agreed. I took them to a corner where there was enough light coming from the shop windows. First I took pictures of her friend (see previous picture) and then of Sofie. I asked Sofie to close her eyes for a while, and focus on inner-self. As she closed her eyes, I set the focus, checked exposure, held my breath and waited. As Sofie opened her eyes, in that particular moment I felt I could catch a glimpse of her soul through the lens. This was the moment when I pressed the shutter click. That single moment is very powerful-intimate, pure and everlasting!

P.S.
If I am able to find her on Facebook, I would invite her to share her version of the story...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.