But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Stupid.

It was a day for cycling and I elected to travel via Peebles to Innerleithen for lunch, and then up to St Ronan’s Wells to see an exhibition celebrating 100 years of the Peebles bee keeping club. The first part of the plan went well with lunch at The Number 1 Peebles Road Coffee House; I was attracted to their waffles with a banana and maple syrup but, as it turned out, I could find no sign, neither smell nor taste, of the syrup, but there was the bonus of a great mound of “summer fruit” which more than made up for it. They do a good cup of coffee there too.
The lighting inside is both strange and variable so, after spending some time trying to make the colours look believable, I opted for a mono Blip.
Then, after climbing up to St Ronan’s Wells, I found I could see the exhibition if I pressed my nose against the window, but the building was locked and barred with no explanatory signage or evidence of human habitation. It was only after arriving home that I found through the interweb that they close for a late lunch although their own web-site seems to make no mention of the fact. However, it was a fine day for a bike ride on one of my favourite routes and the display is on for a few more months, thus  giving me plenty of time to enjoy another bike ride – complete with waffles and coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.