My 10 year old me...

What would the 10 year old me think of my life? How it's turned out? The roads I've taken along the way, the mistakes I've made, the things I've enjoyed, the friends I've made, the friendships I've had, the naughties, the highs, the lows, the shoes, the things I've been unable to do and the things I'm going to do. Would my life be as I'd imagined?

If I could remember, I'd be able to tell you. Alas I can't remember last week never mind 30 years ago what my thoughts were at 10 years old but when I looked out to sea today, the same sea that this little girl is looking out to, I can tell you that I'm incredibly lucky in my life.

I have a great family, lovely friends, really good colouring in! I have a home that I adore, a job that I enjoy most of the time, a holiday of a lifetime in New York to count down to. Some of those are material things of course, like my little car that takes me where I want to be, my incredible camera, a fantastic lens that I can't put down, the next million photos I take, the however-many blips I manage to take in the days to come, and the new friends that I have still to meet. Whatever comes my way I shall make the most of. Apparently, my life is about to begin so I'm going to grab it with both hands and enjoy it all.

My Christmas and New Year has been spent with family and friends and I've had a blast. Thank you all for your company, your gifts, the dollars, your laughter, the penguin onsie, for the mess, for Eduardo and Eduardo II, for the missing false teeth (both at home my parent's home, I still have my own and away), the food, the booze, the theatre, the singing, the nonsense and I finally got my own pony! Lovely time all round, but I'm glad to be home. My own bed and a long lie then a visit to my favourite beach to blow out the bad stuff and bring on the detox!

I shall continue to count down the days to my holiday like a 10 year old and not care what the rest of the world thinks. I'm fortunate to have people in my life who love me simply because I'm me. I like who I am, I like the CDO, I embrace the quirky, I get immense pleasure from the irreverent and I love that I don't need to be someone I'm not. I am going to fill my days with adventure and learning new things and the best thing of all? I get to share it with someone else.

"I was walking along looking for somebody, and then suddenly I wasn't anymore." A.A. Milne

106 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.