Zebra reflections

Day 17: Namibia

Today we stayed at camp for the day, taking regular trips to the waterhole and spending time by the pool. I spent around 3 hours this morning sat at the watering hole. I had taken my book with me thinking that if it was quiet, I would have a read. This didn’t happen as there was a constant stream of wildlife to watch. Three herds of zebras came and it was fun to watch their interactions and how each herd approached to watering hole: one very cautiously, another group ran to the edge and immediately started drinking and the third group dove straight in and went waist high to drink.

My favourite moment was early on when the water was calm and the reflections of the animals were beautiful, especially the zebras. There were also visits by Black faced impalas, impalas and springbok as well as kudu. Never a dull moment. However, when we visited later in the afternoon and in the evening, there was nothing to see. I suspect it was due to noisy tourists who turned up with wine and crisps to watch the sunset!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.