Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Bee and Teasel

The urge for fresh air, peacefulness and somewhere to exercise the shutter finger was high, but I couldn't make my mine up where to go.  I started off thinking about Loseley Park and a flower show there, but instead decided on RHS Wisley with its longer opening hours - so headed off there.  Along the road I changed my mind once again, and instead stopped at the Heather Farm Wetlands centre near Chobham.

This is a relatively new site, acquired from a former mushroom farm in 2015 and first opened to the public in January 2019. I visitied soon after opening when the land was a bit of a mess, and the walks exceedingly muddy. 

Today, most of the walks have well-dressed, hard-packed surfaces, suitable for all, with a small nature reserve next to a lake, and wider meadowlands popular with dog and people walkers.  Wideflowers were abundant and buzzing with busy bees and other insects. 

This clump of teasels was proving very attractive to bumble bees and gave me my image for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.