A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Nairn Show and Speyfest

I had a busy day today. I went to Nairn Show, having failed to enter my lemon curd into the produce section. Next year! I went round the stall, watched some showjumping, sheep and cattle judging, vintage tractor display and some gorgeous Clydesdales demonstrating carriage driving. The extra shows the supreme beef winner, a gigantic Aberdeen Angus.

Then it was off to Speyfest where I met up with friends and watched a group from Orkney called Fara who were superb with great songs and chat and then Eddi Reader (extra) who was even more superb. She moved me to tears singing about an auntie with dementia who thought she was 18 again and wanted to put on her favourite dress and go dancing. Actually I am welling up a wee bit just thinking about it now. And she seemed to be enjoying it just as much as the rest of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.