Walking to Assembly

Today was the first day of the Scottish Six Days Orienteering Festival and we were competing at Auchingarrich, an area Tony and I have run on twice before.  It's a technical and physically challenging forest.

The walk from the carpark to Assembly was almost as long as my course today, but who can complain when the views were so fine?  In fact we left the car at the holiday cottage which was just five minutes down the road from the event car parking. 

I have changed to the short course due to my dodgy knees but I still managed to make my 3k course feel more like three miles!  Certainly it didn't help that I set off from the start and made a 180 degree navigational error, taking me down the steep hillside instead of going up it!!  Tony also made errors on his course, probably due to the fact that neither of us have done any recent forest orienteering.  Ah well, tomorrow is another day!

Postscript: I've faffed with this in my new Photoshop and realised I've done a poor job of bringing up the sky, but it will have to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.