People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Happy New Year!

Another fresh new year is here...
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!

This bright new year is given me
To live each day with zest...
To daily grow and try to be
My highest and my best!

I have the opportunity
Once more to right some wrongs,
To pray for peace, to plant a tree,
And sing more joyful songs!

William Arthur Ward, 1921-1994
American Author and Poet


When I read this poem for the first time, I scoffed. Too simple. Too straightforward. Lacks finesse. Bla, bla, bla.

I have a child now, and often have to explain complex concepts using the words he has already mastered. Good, simple words. This poem doesn't seem seem so bad anymore.

New year's resolutions:
1. To avoid backblipping. My write-ups lack sharpness when written after I have slept on the events described.
2. To be mindful when taking photos, even on bad days.
3. To take time to REALLY read your write-ups, not just ponder the photos.

Have a fantastic year, friends. 13 is a most lucky number.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.