Day 4

While we have been camped at the beach, several folk have been coming down for a swim, including a few I know, or did know years ago. 

One such was J, whom I last spoke to about 30 years ago, a friend of a friend. Today we went to meet her at a derelict farm she bought four years ago and is slowly renovating, on her own!

As well as the farm buildings, there is the remains of an old water mill wheel and wonderful stonework associated with it. The oldest building dates back to the 17th century, but the most interesting was the old shop. It closed before the first World War, but the counter is still there and when J bought it all the jars and scales, the boxes and bottles were still there too. As an archaeologist, she is painstakingly recording her finds as she clears them away and she has a huge collection of fascinating pieces which she showed us and had us guessing at what things were! 

She's done so much, but there is an awful lot more to do. I don't envy her the work ahead, but it is an exciting project!  I took lots of photos but on my camera, rather than my phone, and I can't access them for blipping without my laptop. 

The mist came in and even though it was still warm, it was pretty damp, so we retired to the café for coffee and cake!  Round the other side of the island the sun was shining so we sat and dozed and read. This little hut is near where we camped. I love the use of the fishing rope!  Quite often there is a tiny wren sitting on the gable end, singing away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.