AJC

By AJC

NFG Moths

Three NFG (new for garden) species last night - species I've never recorded in the garden before: Ash-bark Knot-horn, The Campion, Pebble Prominent. Sadly the Campion flew off before I could get any better photos, but there's an interesting story with this moth. Last year I sowed a wild flower mix in the garden. It didn't do much last year, but this spring Red Campion exploded and formed a large area of chest high pink carpet. I've collected so much seed from it that I'm a campion-millionaire. And two months later, up pops The Campion (larval foodplant - campions), a species unknown in my garden previously. All of which feeds a particular bugbear of mine at present - municipal "wild flower" plantings. The well-meaning sowers of these seeds are obsessed with "nectar" (and bees). It doesn't matter how big an area you cover with California Poppy and Marigold or how much nectar they supply, if Lepidoptera can't breed because of lack of larval food plants, they won't be there next year. So take off the bee goggles and sow wild flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.