Antediluvian

As the forecast was for heavy, thundery showers this afternoon, I thought I'd get out this morning as I wanted to reccy parking for an outing I have due in a couple of weeks' time and as I thought there might be some butterflies around the area, I went prepared with my macro lens. There weren't a great many butterflies, as it was a little overcast and windy, but as the path I took runs alongside  a woodland, I had a little look in there, only to see that there were HUNDREDS of Amanita fruiting there. I managed to cobble together a makeshift support for my camera to get this photo of one of them - I think this one is A. rubescens, but there were also A. excelsa var. spissa and A. fulva (English names: Blusher, Grey-spotted Amanita and Tawny Grisette respectively) There may have been more species, so I think a return visit is in order to check them out properly. The thundery showers started right on schedule at 2pm, and it has been more or less continuously hammering down since then. I'm on duty at Longshaw tomorrow morning, so I'm hoping it will dry out a bit before then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.