LifeinAlohaland

By LifeinAlohaland

The bicycle path

It's been so hot and we've been so focused on cleaning and organizing the apartment, and I've had so much work over the past couple of weeks ... which altogether led me to feeling frustrated and caged in today. Luckily, I took the situation in hand and decided to go on a little adventure. A bicycle path has recently been opened here, going from Grosseto all the way to Marina di Alberese. So I set off to explore. It was wonderful. Cycling along a country path, with a breeze in my hair and just the sounds and smells of the country around me. I got as far as the bridge over the Ombrone today - about 1.5 hours - and I'll venture further in the days to come.

What's in a name? A lot. I also made the decision today to stop saying or feeling that I am retired, a pensioner, not because of any stigma attached to those words, but because I do work. And I feel frustrated thinking that I'm retired and should be free to do whatever I like with my time when, instead, I'm also working. So now I'm semi-retired or working part-time. It makes a difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.