Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Footman moth

I think this is a dingy footman, but it may be a rather faded common footman, as it seems a little narrow for a dingy.  Neither are rare, but I had no idea what it was that I had found until I consulted the "Google oracle".

We entertained some friends for an extended brunch this morning - they disembarked from the ferry from The Netherlands in Harwich, and rather than going straight to London, they made a considerable diversion to see us and bring gifts.

After they had left, I framed yet another cross stich picture*, and then went for a wander around the garden with my baby camera.  

I had to return with the larger Canon to get a decent photo of this moth.  It hadn't moved at all, and I wondered if it was actually dead - but on nudging, it flew a short distance to a different leaf - one with better access for photography.

* may feature in a future blip when I'm short of inspiration

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.