Pinkhairedlady

By Pinkhairedlady

One of my grandfather’s medals

I never knew my dad’s father as he died in 1948 when my father was 12 but he was an interesting man. Family folklore had him running away to be a drummer boy in the Cameron Highlanders at the start of WW1 when he was underage but we’ve never been able to verify this. We do know that he was a pipe major when he died.
As we were along the road from Fort George we visited today and I was able to follow up on my email of a couple of months ago in person and now have more information. Up till now I’ve found my grandfather’s marriage and death certificates but no birth record. The information today has given me his service number and information about his being mentioned in dispatches (twice) which lead to his being presented with the DCM and MM amongst others.
At the regimental museum they do have a medal he won for his piping prowess on display and his pipes are somewhere in storage. I wish my dad had been able to know him for longer to pass on the stories but it was not to be. I will be heading to Register house next week to continue my research.
The rest of the day was sorting out the caravan before we head to Belladrum in the morning for our next music festival. I apologise in advance for the collages I am sure I will be posting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.