Rediscovery

By Rediscovery

Win With Game. Or not.

Top Tip!: When you have to wait about an hour for a store manager to get back to you, I highly recommend dragging a comfortable two-seater chair from the camping section as it will greatly enhance your customer service experience. It did mine :)



So nearly three weeks ago I ordered and paid for a table tennis table from Game and was assured that it would arrive before Christmas. It didn't. I could only establish that it was "in transit". They couldn't find another one in stock in the country and the factory is closed until mid-January.

(A week prior to that I had been told by the 'experts' in the sports section that I didn't need to pay up front as they would get the stock in anyway, even though it said "special order" on the photo. I later discovered that it hadn't been ordered.....)

Last week someone phoned me from Game to check if I am happy with my purchase. When told it hadn't actually arrived yet she assured me she would check then phone me back immediately. I'm still waiting.

Today I told the floor manager that I would leave the store when I had the delivery date confirmed in writing, even if it meant sleeping in the shop for the next few days. You need a key for the toilets but if I took my own water there is an endless supply of buckets, potties and baby wipes for the necessary ablutions. I wouldn't run out of chocolate. They have a large range of camping gear and bedding. Even excercise machines so I could work off excessive consumption of chocolate. There are lots of televisions to choose from, movies and a full range of DSTV channels. Plus all the too-good-to-be-true "As Seen on TV" products to try out. I told him I need a holiday and that I would be quite fine on my own every night.

He managed to miraculously find SIX tables in stock in Cape Town and arrange delivery of one After AN HOUR of waiting, during which time I dragged a nice comfy chair from the camping section, he even managed to hand-write me a note confirming delivery next Monday.

All bets are on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.