The Pipers.

We left wonderful Lindisfarne early today before the causeway closed and headed for home . We took a wonderful scenic route through the fabulous Northumbrian countryside taking in some superb views along the way.

We stopped in Corbridge for a fish and chip lunch before arriving back at base. At three o’clock we headed for Haydon Bridge where my cousin had a quick doctors appointment. We then we headed for Haltwhistle to find the cottage my mother and father lived in when they were first married in 1945. It is still there , and I was able to take pictures of it. The little burn that runs beside the cottage was where my cousin learnt to swim, taught by German prisoners of war from the nearby POW camp at Featherstone.

Then back home to prepare for the pipers! Every week my cousin gets together with a small group of Northumbrian Pipers to play and chat. I love these soft sweet sounding pipes and very much enjoyed listening to them playing.

A lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.