No Frame Without Grain

By BobsBlipsFilm

Good Friends

I'd popped out to take a photograph of my favourite old oak tree in Lower Machen, nr Newport (South Wales, UK) when I heard a commotion at the gate of the field it was in. On looking it was my former works colleague and friend John, his wife Stella and daughter, Sarah. They were out for a walk when they spotted me.

The photo of the old oak didn't turn out (I suspect I left the lens cap on - a regular problem with rangefinders!) thus this photo of them. We've been on holidays a few times with them. John has a phenomenal memory, degrees, and other qualifications that take quite a bit of space after his name. We worked together as Sergeants at Bedwas Police Station and Newport Central where I first met him when he transferred from Greater Manchester about 1986.


Camera:  Leica M3 (1955) with Voigtlander 15mm mkiii F4.5 lens
Film:         Ilford HP5 Plus B&W ASA 400

(manual focus and self exposure estimate)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.