A hellish travel day

Before the day began it started off poorly, our train to Katrineholm had been cancelled and the "replacement" bus wouldn't make the connection, so I'd ordered a taxi to get us there.

It was a hot day and our ancient train carriage had no fans, nor could you open the windows very much to provide enough ventilation.

Next, due to a complex driver scheduling/ sickness mistake in the time table, we waited for almost 2 hours in Karlstad - I had a 1 hr connection to make in Oslo for my bus to Florø at 14:30 - which I proceeded to miss.

No worries, I'll just buy another bus ticket, to go with the taxi earlier.

A nice relaxing afternoon spent cooling off in the river and having dinner with K and B.

20:45 arrived and time to head to the bus - queue an extremely powerful thunderstorm! Fortunately it stopped just as I stepped out the door. Phew I thought.

Arrived at Storo T-bane station and the panic began to build, heard something about the power to the lines being temporarily down due to the lightning strike. Took a train the other way around the loop that would get me there in the nick of time. Sadly this stopped at the next station, with no trains now going in either direction. Fantastic!
Seems I'm set to miss this bus to!

After a quick thought, I realised I could catch the bus up if I took the train to Oslo airport, where the bus stops 40 minutes after departing Oslo - yess!

Sadly Charlotte had gone straight to sleep so all my phone calls were missed, thus forcing me to take my second taxi of the day from Nydalen to central station. As luck would have it, there was a normal train departing in 5 mins, so I "saved" 100kr compared to the airport express.

Arrived in Florø a mere 7 hrs later than planned, and 2000kr worse off. Hoping to be able to claim some of it back from the Swedish train company!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.