Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Hair today. Gone tomorrow?

Remember the Punk Pride event I went to last Saturday?

Well, despite always being a firm believer that ‘punk’ is about attitude not about any particular look, I decided to embrace the stereotype and gave myself a DIY haircut for the occasion.

This look was achieved by sticking a strip of masking tape to my head and shaving around it... It turned out rather better than I’d expected!

I’ve rocked the style for a week but I suspect I might get the clippers out again this weekend and even things up a little... so I wanted to record this brief moment for posterity!

In other news... Can you believe that it’s been almost a year since I had my hip replacement? I’ve been back to see my surgeon this week for a 12-month check-up and have been formally discharged. I won’t need to go back for a review for another 4 years.

The whole process was longer, harder and more stressful than I’d imagined it would be, but I think I’m now as close to full working order as I’m likely to get. I have no pain in my hip joint and my walking is almost back to normal. I can run for a bus and I can manage a rather graceless Downward Facing Dog or Child’s Pose. My scar is still uncomfortable and I still can’t lie very comfortably on my left side, but I think I can live with that. It’s much better than daily pain and having to use a walking stick. Big thanks to the NHS, and to all us taxpayers!

This morning I was up with the lark to perform my semi-regular gig as a newspaper reviewer on the BBC Radio Merseyside Breakfast Show. It’s something I’ve been doing every month or so for the past year and I absolutely love it, although I find it hard to believe that I’m actually allowed to talk nonsense to the listening public. I keep expecting to be ‘found out’, but I’m enjoying it while it lasts!

Here are the Television Personalities with one of the greatest songs of all time... ‘Part Time Punks’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=DRyUcmZ0jx8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.