An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

"Salisbury Film Festival"

My 17th backdated Blip.

Salisbury Arts Centre still use this image, a thumbnail-sized memento of their variety in their current season's programme.

A sunny October weekend, 2010 and for my troubles, I'd get to see as many new films (the Coen bros True Grit was one) as I could physically muster plus the fun and frolics with the ice-cream van now converted to a mobile cinema!! Perhaps I should have put up a nice, polarised shot of this, set against the deep blue sky and the church tower behind, but, hey, this is still Blip, after all, so only one allowed!

The public could dress up, make short videos of themselves and friends and there was a local spotlight on locally made short films as the pinnacle to the weekend.

So, here we have members of the in-house youth theatre group "Hoodwink Theatre" - and do believe me when I tell you this - most events of this kind run to a routine that I'm never in on in - even if I could remember it, that is. Play it by ear! It's great to have the confidence to go about my business wherever and whenever I reasonably need to - a real benefit of getting to know the staff well at these sort of events.

So, I'm waiting in the lobby with the staff as the public come in. I hear this excited shouting, young girls run around, screaming and then, four grab shots and a bemused punter (who definitely was NOT in on it) was the subject of 'paparazzi, red-carpet and roses'. I don't think he got a kiss, though...

Pictures and opportunities are out there if you look and work at it. And are nice to people.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.