Castlegate, Aberdeen

Continuing my walking tours of Aberdeen I arrived at Castlegate, a square at the far end of Union Street. At any rate it is the far end of Union Street as far as I am concerned. The building in the background is the Salvation Army Citadel, and on the right of the picture is the Mercat Cross. The latter was built in 1686. The square is under utilised in my opinion, and despite the Mercat Cross there is seldom a market in the square, instead the monthly farmers market takes place along a nearby street.

It rained this morning but it was relatively warm for the time of year. By the time I completed my walk I was a little too warm. As usual I made a stop at mid point for a cake and a cappuccino!

The sun was quite low at the time when I took this shot, and it was giving a golden hue to the buildings. Photographically it was also providing too much contrast between sun and shade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.