Dunoon Pier

After doing well in the Dunoon 10k last year I decided to go for the half marathon this and also hope for a good time.
The forecast was for a max of 19C, light winds (onshore) and some sunny intervals, which sounded like good conditions, so it was looking good.
We left home at 7am in thick mist and only started getting brightness in Glasgow but by 9am in Gourock the sun was out and it was getting warm - oh, dear. A pleasant crossing on the ferry but the sun remained out and it was getting warmer, must have been 19C byt the time we arrived at 9.40 and the wind was very light.
Still hoping it would be okay I set out at slightly slower than the pace I wanted for the 1st half and initially felt comfortable but the sunny interval continued - and continued right until 1.30pm when I'd finished. I just couldn't maintain the pace and had to resort to walking several times to cool down, despite drinking plenty and pouring water over me, something I wouldn't normally expect to do in such a race. The breeze wasn't much help on the way out and coming back it was slightly stronger and against us.
I did manage to finish, 11 mins slower than I'd hoped for, but everyone else was also suffering, it must have been at least 25C when we were running and not much shade. An extra from Gourock looking across the Clyde, spot the odd one out
Straightforward trip hoem again and I don't think there was nearly as much sun here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.