Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Washed Out

Thank you for your good wishes for TM's birthday. We both had a lovely day, ending up at sunset down by the river. 

Maybe we just didn't want the day to end - whatever the reason, we both had a restless, and short night's sleep. At 4.30 am, TM suggested getting up and going into town for a walk.  The thought of wandering the streets before the lunacy of the festival season got going had me up and dressed before he had time to change his mind. And of course, at that time, you can drive into the heart of the city and park where you like :-))

So we walked for an hour or two. The city centre is never really empty. A little street-cleaning was going on - not nearly enough. It's disgusting, I won't distress you by describing the state of the Royal Mile. I can hear my mother's voice muttering the favourite phrase of her declining years 'Damned disgrace', and I find myself echoing.  A few folks trundling cases, on their way to the airport, one of two unfortunates who hadn't made it home after their night's revels, sleeping it off in doorways. Surprisingly few rough sleepers.

We did a circuit of the New and Old Towns and then we went back down to the shore. I'm finding myself more and more drawn to the water - must be reverting to my early childhood.
By then - 7am or so, the fitness freaks were out. A lot of cyclists and joggers, but only three swimmers - this one, and a father and daughter, she aged about four - respect!

Then it was up to Bruntsfield for breakfast at our favourite cafe, newly reopened after a refurb. The old disintegrating sofas are gone - the new benches are not nearly so comfortable. Otherwise, it's the same - great coffee and friendly staff. We'll still be lunching there on Thursdays.

Back to the flat for a snooze. And after that, to the Secret Herb Garden for lunch, and home via the Flat Cat for cake and more coffee. 

Well, it was a birthday weekend. Some more shots in extras.
Apologies for banging on a bit, I get talkative when I'm tired.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.