Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

My Gypsy

This dog has been staying really close to me since I broke my ankle...more so than normal.  She looks at me every day with some kind of question in her eye which is probably "Why are you not taking me for a walk?"   So each morning and evening I sit on the porch so that she can roam around the yard even though she can get out and roam in the yard on her own.   She does not wander off and we have a big yard plus the woods.    A few times I took the scooter down on the grass and walked with her.  

This morning it rained so we sat on the porch watching it.  She had to get up in the other rocker and watch.   You can't see her nose going 50mph but it is.  She smells and hears everything...especially the opening of a cheese stick wrapper when she is upstairs sleeping on the bed.   She hears the construction noises from across the street and barks at weird times.   

Tomorrow is the day the cast comes off.   I have been a little anxious/stressed today because this will be a whole new way of dealing with the broken ankle.    I knew when I had to have the surgery and the cast that it was going to be a very monotonous time mostly sitting which was really not as stressful as this next month appears to be for me.  Tomorrow I will have a walking boot and be able to motivate hopefully without the scooter.   Then there is the pain ?, the limping along with crutches, a cane or nothing?.  Hoping to be able to drive myself. Sleeping without a big heavy weight on my foot.  Can I do some minor exercises with my ankle, liking pointing my toes up and down.  I hope so.  When does PT start?       So many things are going to happen now.     I guess I need to shut my mind off and just wait until 10am tomorrow to see what the doctor says.   He did tell me in the beginning that I would be wearing shoes by the end of August!    Keeping that in the front of my mind.

The goal is to be able to walk/hike some by late September into October.  I definitely want to be able to hike a couple of miles at a time by late October.   I will be asking the doctor about that possibility.

Jerry dreamed he cut the cast off last night.   I knew he was really handy with his little Dremel tool but that is not going to happen.    

Hope everyone has a great first week of August!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.