Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Halloween Pennant

It is definitely pond scum season.  It looks disgusting but the dragons love it and I had a very successful hunting day.  My main blip is a new one for me. :-)  My first extra is a collage of all the different dragons I saw today.  Starting with the large photo, male Blue Dasher, then starting at the top, male Halloween Pennant, mating pair of Dot-tailed Whitefaces (also new to me), male Widow Skimmer, male Variegated Meadowhawk, male Eastern Amberwing.    

My second extra is a really unusual bug.  I think it must be a spider but not like one I've ever seen.  It would be great if anyone could help me with the ID! 

The third extra is a view of one of the ponds with the mountains in the distance.  The snow is finally gone!

I am grateful that I decided to go out early because it was in the mid 90s by the time I finished around noon!  

EDIT:  Thanks to Debbi (dbifulco) for the ID on the strange bug in my second extra.  It's a Sunspider, also called a Windscorpion.  Here's a link to more information if you're interested. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.