Grace

Grace is one of my lovely colleagues. I wasn't expecting to see her today but I got a last minute call to help out with exams as a colleague was absent. And it's always a delight when I do see her. She's always relaxed, friendly and happy, and has such a philosophical outlook in life (grounded in her religious beliefs I believe). And so it was, another happy smile from her. 

I first got to know her two years ago when I had to go through the torturous exercise of medicals to get my visa. I'd already had them done in Cairo, but they needed to be repeated here, including a chest x-ray - because we need lots of those.. not! Grace was getting hers done again, and it's a yearly process for her. I only had to get them done once in my two years. Suffice it to say, ever so unfortunately, we had a different experience doing the same thing. 

I didn't see her very often after that as we worked three floors apart in different departments, but now I'm happy to say we work in the same team now. 

Today started with a session with my trainer then a swim. It was supposed to be a pool day... but.. the call came. I really needed a day off... it ended up being 13 days straight of work. But it was a good day. Not too many exams then another colleague and friend, J and I met up with two colleagues who were here for a month only. We went to the cultural centre to enjoy the dancing fountains in the evening. We sat outside in the heat, in the cool of the big outdoor air conditioners. So bad for the environment and I used to really dislike the whole idea, until you feel so cooped up in this never ending heat. Good company, good conversation, good food. One of the better days here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.