RideLondon

The Head from our school and another teacher along with some parents took part in the 100 mile bike race through London and Surrey, the same route used during the Olympics in 2012.

I downloaded the free tracking app and watched avidly as they progressed around the route. A number of staff and parents were dotted around the course (mainly in Surrey) to cheer them on ( the Head was asked if she was famous as lots of people were shouting out to her ;-D) and I planned to walk across the common with Ruby to cheer them on as they neared the end of their challenge.

As they approached Leith Hill (apparently steeper than Box Hill), G , the Head, went up it but C got diverted around it. G then got stuck on the hill for about 45 minutes due to an accident and also a fallen tree. By this time C was well on her way over Box Hill. Once G was on the move she got diverted around Box Hill but held up a few times in different areas, I think probably from the volume of cyclists.

I set off with Ruby and we waited patiently for C to come past. We both spotted each other just as she flew past. I took Ruby back on the common for a little wander as I knew it would be a while before G got to us. Eventually she made it about an hour or so after C. She spotted me first and started to wave, which I caught on video and she finished the race about half hour after passing me.

They should both be proud of their achievement. I imagine G was a little disappointed with all the hold ups as she has trained incredibly hard and would have treated it as a race and probably had a finish time that she wanted to achieve but I think they both enjoyed the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.