Waist high wheat

I decided to try a walk with my walking group this morning. I haven't done a walk with them since last year but thinking that the gym had got me fit enough chose today as it was a short and easy walk.

I hadn't realised that the route had been changed until we'd been walking a little while as they were both from the same car park.

The walk and my fitness were both a disappointment. The leader hadn't done the walk before and led us with the help of an instruction sheet and a smart phone (surprising for someone who's in the Ramblers) so we had frequent stops to find the route.  

We went wrong several times resulting in deviations and we went through nettles, thistles, twice through a field of sweetcorn, through six fields containing cattle, hard to walk on tussocky grass and two wobbly/falling down stiles.  I really struggled with it (especially the uphill parts) and was probably too optimistic thinking that I was up to group walking yet as they are fast walkers.

I'll have more gym sessions before having another attempt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.