PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

A bit explosive

I thought I'd have a go at a bit of double exposure today. I've never done this before, well not since the days of wet photography. 
I'd better explain the subject before anyone gets too alarmed and reports me to special branch. 
Some years back when I was a not so young student I used to do gardening work and odd jobs to help provide for my family while I was studying. Two of my customers were a lovely old man, whose surname was prefixed by the title of Commander, and his French wife. Apparently he was one of the last surviving of the Dunkirk 'beach masters' whose job was to coordinate the evacuation of troops from Dunkirk in WW2. After the war he went on to be something high up in NATO as I understand it. 
Anyway, disregarding his violent past he really was a lovely old guy. He used to call me in from the garden and offer me sherries or G&Ts which I would have to turn down due to the fact that it was usually early afternoon and I had other customers to drive on to. One day he comes out with this lump of metal which he explains to me is a cutaway model of the fuse of an artillery shell. He says he would like me to have it. Out of politeness I accepted, wondering what use I would have with such a thing. I was very much in to sculpture at the time and on reflection I could see a kind of beauty in its form. So there we are, another object I haven't been able to throw out. 
During the time I worked there the old guy died. I remember turning up to do some gardening and his widow came out with bags of stuff she wanted me to put on a bonfire. She was a proud unsentimental lady and she did say that it was stuff that she didn't want falling into "anyone's hands" so I did what I was told. But I had to have a peak as it went up in flames.  There were photos from the 1930's and 40's and letters in French which with my poor schoolboy French would have taken sometime to decipher, but I did recognise the phrase Legion d'honneur. The kind of stuff that could inspire a Sebastian Faulks novel. 
Very soon after she sold the majority of her furniture and belongings and moved into sheltered accommodation. Out of respect to her I haven't mentioned names. However if I see a doddery old couple slowing up the supermarket queue in front of me I think to myself "be patient" you don't know their history. And after all they might have an artillery shell with them ....... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.