MikeWest

By MikeWest

Dark Lace

The white circles of Queen Anne's Lace stood out in stark contrast against the dark green background catching my eye as I walked back, thinking I was already done photographing for the evening.

I almost discounted them because they weren't the best specimens, nor were they arranged in a particularly interesting way. But in review, the image was the most striking of the evening's captures. White flowers lend themselves to a value contrast treatment, not perhaps that the subject is all that serious, but perhaps there is something a bit sinister about them?

I liked the varying degrees of focus and the partially hidden one in the lower left. I initially thought the two overlapping in the top right spoilt the shot, but then they do make an interesting shape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.