Kray

By Kray

Joseph

My first theatre trip ever was to the London Palladuim to see Joseph and his Technicolor Dreamcoat with my hero of the time Jason Donovan. It was 1991 and I was twelve years old. It was magical and as a kid it completely blew me away. I remember trying to look at everything in every scene and take it in, knowing that I was seeing something special.

Nearly 30 years later it's back, at the Palladium, with Jason. I still kind of love him. But, add with most things in life, it didn't quite live up to expectation. It was good, clever, voices were great ... but it wasn't magical.

But then I wasn't a 12 year old child seeing her hero in real life for the first time. I have grown up and this realisation felt like such a sad a loss to me. I made a mental note to try to look at things differently. More magic is needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.