Spot Check

Who'd have me as an 'employer'! I found myself in Edinburgh today to pick up Dot's car which she kindly lent me to save even more, very expensive hire charges on this latest trip to see Mum.

I realised at the last minute that Helen, our Edinburgh flat preparer/welcomer, may be in doing a turn round of the apartment, just around the corner, for guests going out and coming in today. So I texted her . . .

Are you in the flat?
Yes.
See you in a minute.

This could have caused a heart attack but she took it in her stride! She does a great job and the flat was looking great for guests arriving within the hour. I also got the chance to test out the new bed mattress installed this past week, and other things that need attention, like the common stair....that will be a communal repair which we will have to lead remotely.

Then, cross-country in Dot's brand new Audi 1 S-Line model....with only 35 miles on the clock when she most generously handed me the keys to me for a week. 'And if anything does happen,' she said, 'Let's remember it's only a car.' Talk about loving friendship!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.