1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Old school milking

Well at least it's not done by hand, but Graham's milking parlour could use some modernisation. Still, it's done him for the last 40 years or so and I expect it'll do him for a few years more yet.

Graham is Mary's grandad. I've know him since I was 12 years old, newly moved to a bungalow 5 minutes along the lane from his farm. Desperate to go watch them milking, I stopped his wife, Jean, as she was bringing the cows past our place and asked if I could go with her. Somewhat surprised she said yes and I practically moved in after that.

They must have liked having a child about the place as about 18 months later Rachel ( Mary's mum ) was born, followed by Louise and then Emma. Now Graham says he's very proud of his 4 daughters. I'm very happy to be considered one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.