Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Another vigil, this one for El Paso and Dayton

The USA has more gun violence than any other country on earth. We have more guns than people in this country. Tonight a group called Lift Every Voice held an interfaith vigil. They want to put an end to white supremacy, hatred, and gun violence. 

Many people feel that banning assault weapons will result in more targeting of people of color and more mass incarceration. I hear that, and I fear it; and yet the people at the vigil are only talking about banning assault weapons and bump stocks--weapons that can kill many people in seconds. There have been more mass shootings in the USA than days in the year. I agree that white supremacy, racism, and hatred are the basis of most of this killing, but I don't know if anyone knows how to end all that before someone else's children are ripped apart by bullets.

Eddie Glaude expresses powerful truth about what's behind most of this violence. 

If you want to see more photos of the vigil and have access to Facebook, an album is here, I hope. (I have entered the link several times, but when I save it and open it to check to see if it works, the album doesn't load. So maybe it's just hopeless to try to link to Facebook albums.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.