Kipsie

By Kipsie

Sunshine through my window

this afternoon but the forecast is'nt sounding good for the next few days.

I spent the morning up on the allotment, always plenty to do. I could spend all day up there it's very peaceful & satisfying. The bindweed is my nemesis, turn my back and it's wrapped itself around the very thorny blackberry?, the young fruit bushes, the sweetcorn plants, but I will keep at it. Lifted more potatoes, the last row of 'Rocket', the last 7 rows are Charlotte. Richard & Shirley were on their plot, picking runner beans etc. We got chatting about what crops had been good, they had been to visit family in Guernsey for 2 weeks, just as their crop of peas were ready, 3 weeks later on their return from visiting their son back here in Sussex the crop had gone past it's best, but family come first. I mentioned that I was going to the recycle centre in Newton Abbot to look for another compost bin. About 10 minutes later he walks across with a compost bin that he no longer uses. I now have 3 bins :) They're off to Guernsey again tomorrow, then on to the south of France with their family for 2 weeks. "Help yourself if you'd like a red cabbage, or anything else you see". That's what I love about sharing an interest, sharing. I planted my winged bean/asparagus pea plants, & left some for Julie, a newbie on the allotment site. She & her daughter are trying to grow all their veggies organically, they're also vegetarian. She'd not heard of winged beans but up for growing some so I left a pack of plants for her to find on her next visit. The Jack 'o Lantern pumpkin is getting bigger & bigger. :) The Turk's Turban squash are looking really funky :) The butternut squash not so good. Not one fruit has formed, so I'm wondering if it's because the plants are from seed that I saved from a squash I bought in the supermarket.
Back from the allotment, brunch. Poached eggs on crumpets. Yummy!
Planted a few more bits in the front border under the window, then dug the border in readiness for planting. Hopefully the weather forecast will give the ground a good soaking, I've got plants ready to go in but need some rain first. Trimmed the boundary hedge, then nipped up the allotment with a bin full of garden waste, better to do it before the rain comes. I dug a small tract over then sowed nigella, marigold & nasturtium seed. Gave that a watering ,collected some plant plug packs. Planning for a wet weather job. I still have lots of cuttings to plant. I can do that in my greenhouse. I thought I might get a wide Wednesday shot in the field of wheat above the allotment site. I'm surprised they have'nt harvested it with the weather forecast being dodgy. Took a few pics but nothing brilliant, then when I was preparing dinner  I noticed the sunshine coming in through the window.  I do tend to collect all sorts, so on the window from left to right, a pewter candle holder I bought in Sweden many years ago on a school cruise, a Jade plant that I rescued from Cassiesmum, 2 pottery jars I dug up from the garden when we lived in Ipplepen, a collection of small stones from beaches in Thailand, a triple tea light holder, a really nice stone that I think has a face in it,  a tea light jam jar that I made a couple of years ago, a Turkish garlic bulb that I plan to plant on the allotment, & lastly a slab clay pot that I made at college.
The Boardmaster's music festival in Newquay has been cancelled on the strength of the bad weather on its way. Lots of unhappy festival goers :(

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.