and through the wire...

By hesscat

No Sale, Sale!

I decided to go into the big smoke today, 1. to get my holiday haircut and 2. to attend a Bon Iver new LP listening event at Assai Records. There were almost 70 listening events world wide, 10 in the UK and 1 in Scotland. I would doubt many people have heard of Bon Iver, but am sure everyone has heard their music, it keeps cropping up in TV programmes. I love their music, it just takes me to a good place where everything is perfect.

I have not been to an LP listening event before, everyone mulls in to the point there is limited movement. The album goes on, the till shuts so no-one can interrupt the sounds and everyone just gazes around the room. It was a bit weird at first, then they started handing out free beers so we all chilled out. Afterwards some rounds of applause, photos and the tills opened to take pre-orders. Despite being £5 more than Amazon, I placed an order, it would be rude not to? I later saw a trailer for a film about the resurgence of vinyl records which looks interesting. Having grown up listening to music that way, it's such a difference to streaming music from spotify, like you're doing something special. I wonder how long this wave will last.

Afterward, as I queued for a wagamama seat for my dinner, waiting for Mrs C to arrive and join me, Ms H was passing on the bus and whatsapped me saying she liked my holiday haircut... as I turned round I saw her pass on said bus with her pal. That was weird...

I am only writing this for myself because I'll forget, but after my haircut while in the Princes St office, as the storms were brewing, there was finally .a large flash then an almighty bang or cracking noise - not thunder. It was so loud people screamed out in the office. Then it absolutely poured down and 3 fire engines arrived at the church on the corner with Lothian Road. Fireman were rushing about checking things. I read later they went to St Cuthberts down the lane to the castle where it had been hit by lightening while a fringe show was on and was evacuated, but all was ok. 

Ok I'm done...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.