Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Allington Lock

Had to go to Maidstone Hospital today for a radio active kidney functions test. On arriving at the hospital I thought we had gone to a holiday camp. Some of the buildings resembled holiday accommodation and families were milliing around in shorts. If hospitals can be welcoming, this one certainly was. Far better than my recent experiences as an inpatient at Darent. If I need a further operation I shall ask to go there.

I was very anxious about the test but it was very quick, simple and painless. And the amount of radio activity in my body was minute.

I had four hours of freedom before returning to Nuclear Medicine for a blood test. Good friends live a short distance away and had invited us to lunch.

We sat in their lovely secluded garden and I ate the biggest meal I have managed in months. It was delicious. We havent seen them for about three months and they had lots of news and travels to bring us up to date.

Sally bought me a"Coco & Bloom' gift of a glass vase with a huge cut hydrangea and surrounded by greenery from her garden. I am to fill it with flower/shrubs cuttings from my garden throughout the year. It is a lovely idea and one i shall treasure.

After the return blood test - very efficient and we were in and out within 15 minutes , we drove to Allington Lock on the river Medway. We planned to have coffee in The Little Old Toll House but unfortunately there was no parking. We left the car for a few minutes to take some photos.

It is a beautiful spot, and we will return there again having sorted out the parking locations .

Every day I feel I am improving and can do a little more , although still unable to walk very far, which is frustrating. Maybe in a week or so?

My extras are of the Little Old Toll House coffee shop and art gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.