Machir Bay

Ok, I didnt take this photo, but I like it better than the ones I took of D.  Machir Bay was a place we loved to visit on family holidays at Port Charlotte. There was quite a walk to get here, and the sea wasn't visible until the last minute when you turned a corner and there below you..the Atlantic. Looking out west there was nothing until Canada. There were proper waves, too. I have a lot of lovely memories from this place and while D was doing his yoga, they all flooded back and he found me in tears. I've no idea why..

We walked back to Kilchoman and had a cup of tea in the distillery cafe. No whisky this time. I was here last year on my birthday, I like Kilchoman as they grow barley around the building and bottle on site. We were here the year it all started and now they are expanding.

The weather was amazing in the late afternoon so we decided to make the most of it and go for another beach walk, this time along the western side of Loch Gruinart, to Ardnave Point. My step counter has registered 21,000+ sandy steps today!

I'm writing this while D cooks our tea. We are back at Killinallan for the night. All is calm, all is bright..but a big storm is forecast to hit Islay tonight. Batten down the hatches!. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.